Orpheus Britannicus : a collection of all the choicest songs for one, two, and three voices


A collection of songs by Henry Purcell, published posthumously in London in two volumes - the first in 1698 and the second in 1702. The preface to the first volume was written by Henry Playford, the printer of the volume.

In Collection:
Creator Subject Publisher Language Identifier
  • Call Number: M1497 P9 O7 1698
Date created Resource type Rights statement Extent
  • 1 score (2 volumes)
Alternative title
  • Vocal music. Selections
  • Collection of all the choicest songs for one, two, and three voices
Geographic coverage Coordinates
  • 54, -2
Physical repository Collection
  • Printed Music
Provider Genre Date digitized
  • September 17, 2015
Technical note
  • 600 dpi tiffs; TTI Betterlight scanner; Metadata by G. Fowler and MT.
  • Contact UVic Special Collections and University Archives for access to the original resource and for reproduction requests (fee for reproductions). This material is made available on this site for research and private study only.

This page supports the Zotero and Mendeley browser extensions simply click on the extension widget in your browser to save the objects citation.